New GCSE Grading System

The Government’s new GCSE grades have already come into play for English and maths, with other subjects to follow. What do the changes mean?

Teenagers across the country who sat their English and maths exams this summer have been awarded new GCSE grades 9 to 1. These new GCSE grades have replaced the traditional A* to G grading system, and will be rolled out across most other subjects over the next couple of years.

Why have the Government made these changes, and what do they mean for your child?

The New GCSE Grades

Officials at the Department for Education have said that the new GCSE exams are more challenging, and cover more content. The new GCSEs are assessed purely on exams at the end of a two year course, removing the coursework element that students have become accustomed to.

The new GCSE grades of 9 to 1 have been designed to provide greater differentiation between high achieving students. For passing grades, 9, 8, and 7 align to A* and A, whilst 6, 5, and 4 align to B and C. Below a standard pass, 3, 2, and 1 cover the range of D through to G.

What Does This Mean for Your Child?

Some parents are worried that their children may score lower grades under the new system. However, the Department for Education expect the same proportion of students to achieve grade 7 and above as achieved grade A and above in 2016, and the same for grade 4 and grade C respectively.

However, doubts linger. The effects of the new GCSE grades on students’ exam scores, along with their applications for further education and jobs, remains to be seen. Top Tip Tuition provide focussed English and maths tuition sessions that will help your child achieve their potential; get in touch if you’d like to discuss your child’s unique requirements.

October 6, 2017 Carrie Millard

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *